A Love Affair With Lino

image

Hello and welcome to The Lino Lair – a place where I can shower the digital world with images of my Lino cuts, talk about ideas I’m working on and the inspiration behind them, and share the things that I’ve learnt over the years. It is rather fitting that I’m starting this blog on St. Valentine’s Day as I did fall in love with Lino cutting about eleven years ago, when I started my degree in Printmaking. It wasn’t love at first sight, though! Like all the classic love story tropes it was more of a frustrating and bewildering experience, and it was only after approaching it with more patience and understanding did our love begin to blossom.

The first time dabbling with Lino during my Foundation course was messy, unplanned and painful. I felt ashamed of the image I had created and hid it from my coursework. Sadly, It wasn’t anything risqué that I was hiding, it was a badly cut Lino of a rabbit! Nevertheless, I was drawn to printmaking and did not give up on the craft. In the beginning I favoured collographs, as the abstract  results were far more pleasing to me and the process was therapeutic. When I picked up a Lino cutting tool a few years later, under different tutelage and with fresh inspiration, things were different and for the first time in my life I felt like I had found my guiding star. It sounds silly, but there is something almost magical about discovering your hidden strengths or passion. I believe that passion is the most important thing, not just in art but in everything you do. To me, being passionate about something doesn’t necessarily mean you are the best at it, doing it just makes you feel free and happy, and in a way that makes you feel like the best in your heart.

image

After years of flirting with the idea of chronicling my Lino escapades I have finally committed, and this blog is the result. Lino cutting is a rewarding and beautiful craft, and I still find myself yearning to create and cut in the middle of the night. I hope that you enjoy following my inky ramblings and I’d love to hear from anyone interested in the process or who just wants to gush about printmaking.

Thanks for stopping by on this blog’s maiden voyage, now let’s go cut some Lino!

Leave a Reply

